JUser: :_load: Unable to load user with ID: 42

Tax Collector: Frank Berardo
Deputy Tax Collector: Debra Mati, CTC
Address: 50 Washington Avenue, Dumont, NJ 07628
Phone: 201-387-5025
Fax: 201-384-5248
E-mail: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
Hours: Mon-Fri, 9:00am-12:30pm, 1:30pm-4:30pm

Borough Hall Summer Hours:
Memorial Day through Labor Day
Monday – Thursday:  8:30 a.m. - 12:30 p.m., 1:30 p.m. – 4:30 p.m.
Friday:  8:30 a.m. – 1:00 p.m.

Paying Your Property Taxes

Taxes are payable in person or by mail quarterly: February 1, May 1, August 1, & November 1.

Dumont home owners now have the ability to view and pay their property taxes on line. PLEASE NOTE: There is a fee associated with paying your bill on line:

  • If you pay by e-check or Automated Clearing House (ACH), the fee is $1.95 per transaction.
  • If you pay with a credit or debit card, the fee is 2.95% of your total bill (e.g., if your quarterly tax bill is $2,000, your fee is $59.00 per transaction).
  • Please be advised: If you make an online payment, you will not be able to make another online payment during the same business day cycle.

To pay your property taxes online, click here.

State Property Tax Relief Programs

For information about State Property Tax Relief Programs, including eligibility criterion and potential deduction or credit amounts, please visit the Division of Taxation's website at https://www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/relief.shtml


The Tax Collector is charged with the responsibility of billing, receiving and collecting all taxes and assessments both current and delinquent. The Office of the Tax Collector bills over 5300 taxpayers yearly and collects taxes quarterly. Taxes are always due: February 1, May 1, August 1 and November 1. In New Jersey taxes are due the first day of the second month of each quarter.

The Tax Collector presides at the annual tax sale, and also adjusts the tax accounts for tax appeals, senior citizen, disabled and veteran deductions. The Collector is also responsible for mailing the bills to the mortgage companies and the owners of the property as well as responding to all inquiries about property taxes.

A ten day grace period to the 10th of the due month is allowed by resolution by the Mayor and Council after which time interest is retroactively charged from the first day of the month in which taxes are due. State statute requires any taxes remaining unpaid be subject to interest at the rate of 8% per annum on the outstanding balance up to $1500 and 18% per annum on the balance over $1500. An additional penalty of 6% is charged on any single year's delinquency if the total due (including principal and interest) at the end of that calendar year is more than $10,000.

Postmark is not recognized by tax collector's offices. The payment must be in the hand of the Collector by close of business on the last day of grace. Please note that the due date does not change, the due date remains constant but rather the grace period is an interest free period - the 10th day of grace is not the due date. Any interest that is due then is paid first and the balance is applied to the most delinquent tax bill.

You can pay your tax bill by mail with a check or in person using a check or cash. Send your check with the appropriate stub from the bill to 50 Washington Avenue, Dumont, NJ 07628. Please remember that a receipt will be provided only if you send or bring the entire bill (this means the upper portion of the bill as well as the stub). The appropriate stub will be retained by the office, the back of the upper portion of the bill will be validated and the entire bill will then be returned to you. If you mail your payment and would like a receipt mailed to you, include a self-addressed stamped envelope with your payment and bill.  Otherwise, no other receipt will be provided. Your record of the cancelled check will be the only receipt.

New owners should call the tax office for the necessary property tax information. In this state, once you own property it becomes your complete responsibility (100%) to ascertain when taxes are due and the amount. If the seller has not passed the current bill to you at closing you should call as soon as possible to ascertain what your tax situation is. Whether you are a new or an old owner, according to state law, not receiving a bill does not exempt a property owner from payment of taxes or being charged interest if the bill becomes delinquent. Do not wait to receive a bill, you must be proactive and obtain the information you need well in advance of the due date. The first notification that you will receive from the collector's office regarding each quarter's payment is a delinquent notice if the tax is still unpaid at the end of the grace period.

Where in Dumont is it?

50 Washington Avenue, Dumont, NJ