JUser: :_load: Unable to load user with ID: 42

Chairman: Nicola Attanasio
Vice Chairman: Carl Manna

Board Secretary: William Paige

Kai Chen, Mayor's Designee, Class I (term exp. 12/31/27)
David Gluckman, Class II (term exp. 12/31/24)
Tom Kelly,  Councilman Class III (term exp. 12/31/24)
Nicola Attanasio, (Class IV, term exp. 12/31/26)
Ken Armellino, Class IV (term exp. 12/31/27)
Michael Francavilla, Class IV (term exp. 12/31/24)
Carl Manna, Class IV (term exp. 12/31/26)
Chris Sheridan, Class IV (term exp. 12/31/27)
Andrew Warta, Class IV (term exp. 12/31/24)

Jim Savage, Alt. #1 (term exp. 12/31/24)
Kevin Grom, Alt. #2 (term exp. 12/31/24)
Michael Sullivan, Jr, Alt. #3 (term exp. 12/31/25)
Michael Affrunti, Alt. #4 (term exp. 12/31/25)

Joint Land Use Board By-Laws

Meeting Schedule:
The Joint Land Use Board meetings are held in the Council Chambers on the 3rd floor of Borough Hall located at 50 Washington Ave.

The dates for 2024 are as follows:
January 30
February 27
March 26
April 30
May 28
June 25
July 23
August 27
September 24
October 29
November 26
December 19

March 26, 2024:
The March 26, 2024 Joint Land Use Board meeting has been canceled due to a lack of Agenda.

Joint Land Use Board Procedures

Joint Land Use Board Agendas, Minutes, and other Downloads

The Joint Land Use Board of the Borough of Dumont will not accept petitions in favor or support of any application. Residents are encouraged to attend these open public meetings to ask questions and testify with respect to pending applications at the appropriate time.  Petitions are not legally permitted, and if allowed the decision of the Board could be reversed in court.  As stated in Lincoln Heights Ass'n v. Twp. of Cranford Plan. Bd., 314 N.J. Super. 366, 377, 714 A.2d 995, 1000 (Law. Div. 1998), aff'd, 321 N.J. Super. 355, 729 A.2d 50 (App. Div. 1999):

“The law concerning receipt of unsworn written petitions by municipal boards is well-defined in New Jersey. In short, the law provides that hearings on site plan and variance applications before municipal boards are quasi-judicial proceedings, and as such, the boards may consider only sworn, competent, credible testimony of individuals who are available for cross-examination. Seibert v. Dover Township Board of Adjustment, 174 N.J.Super. 548, 417 A.2d 72 (Law Div.1980); Exxon v. Bernardsville Board of Adjustment, 196 N.J.Super. 183, 481 A.2d 1172 (Law Div.1984); Cranford Land Development Ordinance, Sec. 136-4I(2). In both Seibert and Exxon, the courts reversed the boards decisions because the board admitted unsworn written petitions into evidence in violation of the public's right to cross-examine the petitioners, determine their credibility and test the merits of their objections. In those cases, the courts were also persuaded to reverse the boards' conclusions because they were otherwise unsupported by substantial credible evidence.”